Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili

It’s fall here in Northwestern PA and to me that means warm, comforting foods. I absolutely love soups and chili and have recently discovered that I also love pumpkin and squash added to just about everything.

I found this recipe on one of my favorite vegan sites and made a few changes to it. I am the only one in my family who follows a plant-based diet, so the first change I made was to cut the recipe in half. I also have learned that a little spice goes a long way, so cut the heat by half from the original recipe.

I have begun to freeze single serving portions of leftovers from my vegan meals for future use and this way I don’t have to eat the same meal every day for 5 days either!

Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili

Adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  • ½  medium onions, diced
  • ½  tbsp olive oil (can also use water if you want to reduce fat)
  • 1 red bell peppers, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small butternut squash, cubed
  • 1 can (15 oz.) black beans , drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (12 oz.) diced tomatoes
  • 1 tsp chili powder (or more to taste)
  • ½  tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Sea salt, Herbamare, and pepper to taste

Directions:

The first thing you will want to do is peel and cube your squash. This was a pain in the ass, but worth it in the end!

In a large pot, add the oil and turn heat to medium. Add chopped onion and minced garlic and sauté the onion for about 5 minutes or so. Reduce heat if necessary to avoid burning. Now add the chopped pepper and butternut squash. Cook forever or at least until the squash is fork tender**. Next add in the drained and rinsed beans, diced tomatoes, chili powder, cumin, paprika, vegetable broth, and sea salt, Herbamare and Pepper. Stir well. Simmer on low-medium for another 5-10 minutes.

Makes approximately 6 servings (1 cup each serving).

** I added mine uncooked to the chili and my squash cubes were rather um, large, so it took forever to cook! I’d probably either roast the squash cubes first next time or cut the cubes smaller.**

 

What’s your favorite fall vegetable? Do you like soup or chili better?

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

