Homemade Savoy Cabbage and Potato Soup

I went to the local Farmer’s Market the other day on the way home from work. My fall loving heart (and love of food!) was in heaven. There were so many different types of squash and pumpkin and cabbage and root veggies to choose from. I decided to get an acorn squash, sweet potato, rutabaga, some black plums and the King of Cabbages; a Savoy cabbage! Have you ever seen one of these? It’s HUGE! I had no idea what I was going to make with the cabbage but just had to get it. (I think I ended up making about 6 recipes out of this one cabbage!)

I love soup on a cool fall day, so this first recipe was an obvious choice. I also had a 5 lbs. bag of potatoes sitting on my counter that needed used up before the potatoes started sprouting and going soft.

Homemade Savoy Cabbage and Potato Soup

Adapted from recipe on food.com

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head Savoy cabbage, shredded
  • 5-6 medium white potatoes
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1.5 tsp minced garlic (I used Spice World minced garlic in jar, but you could use fresh if you wanted)
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (I used Rapunzel brand)
  • 1 tbsp. canola oil
  • nutmeg, black pepper, salt to taste

Directions:

I absolutely hate peeling potatoes, it takes forever (I’m impatient) and makes my hands all pruney, but for this recipe, I peeled the damn potatoes! Up to you though if you want to leave the peel on.

Peel, wash and dice the potatoes. Clean and wash the Savoy cabbage and cut it into small and short strips. Cut the onion into slices, peel and mince the garlic if using fresh cloves.

Heat the oil in a big cast iron pot and once it’s hot add the garlic to it. Sauté with the onions until golden brown.

Add the potatoes and the Savoy cabbage. Sauté for another few minutes and then add the vegetable broth.

Once the Savoy cabbage has shrunken a bit, cover and let simmer for 25-30 minutes until vegetables are tender.

Season to taste and enjoy! This recipe was tasted and approved by the omnivorous husband.

Makes approximately 12 servings (1 cup each serving).

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

