Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

I love cranberries, fresh or dried, they’re both delicious! I found a recipe for Orange Cranberry Muffins over at The Post Punk Kitchen in the spring. These are my very favorite kind of muffins. I used to be able to buy an orange cranberry mega-muffin with turbinado sugar on top at my local Tops grocery store. Then they stopped making them! <gasp> The horror! I asked the bakery why they longer carried this delicious muffin and was informed that it wasn’t very popular so they stopped baking it.

So obviously when I found the recipe on the PPK, I felt a need to make these muffins immediately! But the recipe calls for fresh cranberries which apparently stores don’t carry in the spring! So I searched for frozen cranberries, which again, the grocery store doesn’t carry! It’s a “seasonal” item I was told. <sigh> The muffins had to wait until cranberries returned to the grocery store.

Well, the cranberries have returned to the stores! I bought a bag to freeze and a bag to use for baking and cooking. (I make an awesome cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving, make sure to stop back for the recipe!) I made a batch of the orange cranberry muffins and I can honestly say they were worth the wait! Oh my yumminess!

After making a batch of muffins I still had half a bag of cranberries left, so I searched the internet for other baked goods using fresh cranberries. Sure, I could have chosen to make an orange cranberry bread but that was too much like the muffins, so I kept searching. Then I stumbled upon this recipe. A Pumpkin Cranberry Bread. Pumpkin is also “seasonal” around here and I’ve been stock piling cans in my pantry! It was perfect. I love pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, pumpkin soup, pumpkin anything!

The original recipe from epicurious is not vegan, but easily veganized by using flax eggs instead of chicken eggs. I also decided to lower the fat content by using applesauce instead of the 1/4 cup oil the original recipe called for.

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

Adapted from recipe on epicurious

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (I used Libby’s, make sure it’s not pumpkin pie filing!)
  • 1 cup sugar (I used Florida Crystals, they’re vegan approved!)
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flax + 6 tbsp warm water, mix together in small cup and let stand)
  • 1/4 water
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries, rinsed & picked over

Using a hand blender, beat together pumpkin, flax eggs, sugar, water, and applesauce.
Sift in flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda and spices until smooth.
Fold in fresh cranberries.

Pour into greased loaf pan (I use Baker’s Joy spray) and bake at 350°F for 1 hour, 15 min.
Remove from oven and place loaf pan on cookie rack for 10 min. Then gently take bread out of pan and allow to cool completely on cookie rack.

This would make a great addition to your Thanksgiving meal. Or eat a slice with some Earth Balance for breakfast. Or as dessert.

What’s your favorite kind of muffin or bread?

 

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies | Herbivore Triathlete

  2. Erica {Coffee & Quinoa}

    Anna, this looks yummy! What a great way to use all the pumpkin and cranberries that I stocked up on because they’re “seasonal items.” 🙂 P.S. I was told at my Kroger that baking chocolate is a seasonal item for them. WHAT?

    Reply

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

