Simple Homemade Ketchup-No High Fructose Corn Syrup

{source}

Ketchup. I love ketchup. My kids love ketchup. We put ketchup on everything. I don’t love High Fructose Corn Syrup (HCFS) though and most commercial brands of ketchup include HFCS. So, about 6 months ago I began to make my own ketchup from scratch. It took several batches of ketchup to find just the right balance of spices to satisfy my family. Everyone now prefers my homemade ketchup over store bought brands!

Ingredients:
Makes about 2 cups of ketchup

  • 12 oz. can of tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup sucanat (I use Wholesome Sweeteners brand)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground clove
  • 1 pinch all spice
  • 1 pinch cayenne
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk until combined. Transfer ketchup into a glass jar (Mason jars work great for this, I re-use spaghetti jars) and refrigerate. Although ketchup can certainly be used right away, the flavors do seem to intensify over time.

Does your family love ketchup? What’s your favorite condiment?

 

1 thought on “Simple Homemade Ketchup-No High Fructose Corn Syrup

  1. Pingback: Vegan Kitchen Essentials | Herbivore Triathlete

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.