How to Stay Motivated When it’s COLD outside!

It’s getting cold here in Northwestern Pennsylvania, in fact, we’ve had a few days of snow “dust” already, not enough for the ground to be covered in snow, but still, SNOW. I am always cold so to go outside, on purpose, in the cold to run is not exactly my idea of a great time. My ideal running weather is in the fall, not too hot & not too cold, but fall is gone around these parts so unless I want to run on the dreadmill for the next four to six months, I need some motivation.

There’s lots of articles and advice out there on the internets so rather than repeating it all here, I’ll simply link to some of the articles I’ve found to be the most helpful to me.

  • 4 Winter Workout Motivation Tips by Tina Haupert of Carrots ‘N’ Cake; my favorite tip is putting my jacket in the dryer for five minutes before leaving the house. I started doing this for my kids last winter in the mornings with their clothes and they LOVE it!
  • Winter-Proof Your Run by Rozalynn S. Frazier; this article gives great tips on how to dress appropriately for a run outside all winter long, warming up, avoiding slips, and the importance of staying hydrated.
  • 4 Workouts to Get You Through the Winter by Tina Haupert of Carrots ‘N’ Cake; if you really don’t want to brave the cold, this article has suggestions on how to keep your workouts fun and interesting to avoid boredom in the gym.
  • The Secrets to a Super-Happy Winter by Leslie Barrie; the article suggests staying positive, giving yourself incentives, eating healthy, join a group, enjoy the season and more!
**All articles from Health.com**
Source of Photo 
3 thoughts on “How to Stay Motivated When it’s COLD outside!

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

