Do It Yourself Dishwasher Detergent

Remember when I showed you how to make laundry detergent? I told you then that I also make my own dishwasher detergent, so that’s what I’m going to share with you today. This is super easy and quick to make.

What you will need; Borax, Baking Soda, Citric Acid and White Vinegar

IMG_4738-2

In a bowl combine;

  • 2 cups Borax
  • 2 cups Baking Soda
  • 1/4 cup Citric Acid

Stir it up and put in a container with a lid. Use 2 tablespoons per load of dishes. Add a splash of vinegar to each load as a rinse agent, if desired. That’s it!

IMG_4739-2

This detergent will clump because of the citric acid. Here are a few ways to make it clump less;

  • Add a tsp of rice to the detergent to help absorb moisture.
  • After combining ingredients, leave mixture out and stir several times each day for a day or two.
  • Add 1/2 tsp. citric acid separately to each dishwasher load rather than adding it to the detergent.

Now let’s check out how much money we’re saving by making our own detergent.

Borax ($3.38 for a 4 lbs., 12 oz. box), Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda ($3.24 for a 3 lbs., 7 oz. box) Citric Acid ($4.99 for a 7 oz. jar), 1 gallon of White Vinegar $1.79

Using 2 tablespoons per load of dishes, I can get about 18 loads per batch of detergent that I make, that’s equal to $0.05 per load!

  • White Vinegar as a Rinse Agent 1 gallon solution – $1.79 – 1 fill = $0.06 per fill

Do you make your own dishwasher detergent? Or laundry detergent? Tell me in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Do It Yourself Dishwasher Detergent

    1. Herbivore Triathlete Post author

      I order my citric acid online because I can’t find it in the stores around here, but I’ve heard that unflavored Kool-Aid works as well. Let me know if you try it and see improved results in your dishes!

      Reply

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

