Weekly Rewind

rewind Time for my weekly rewind where I share great ideas, recipes and articles from around the web during the past week!

I’ve been pinning recipes like a mad woman on Pinterest and as a result I’ve been doing a lot of baking and cooking this week.

Over the weekend I made this Outback Steakhouse Wheat Bread (copycat recipe) from Averie Cooks. I did have to tweak the recipe a bit. For the first attempt I followed Averie‘s directions to the letter and my dough just did not rise! So for my second attempt I used less flour, I also changed from white whole wheat flour and used Whole Wheat Pastry flour. Instead of adding the yeast to the dry ingredients, I added it to the molasses/water mix and let it sit and foam up for 5-10 minutes before adding to the dry ingredients. The final change I made was to roll the dough into one loaf instead of two. My second attempt resulted in a perfect loaf, chewy and hearty, perfect for the soup I made! This bread reminds me very much of Swedish Limpa, one of my favorite breads as a child that I have not found here in the States. I’ve tried to re-create Swedish Limpa in the past and have never come close. This Outback Steakhouse Wheat Bread (copycat recipe) from Averie Cooks is the closest to how I remember. I will definitely be making this again and again. Averie suggests serving with honey butter, which is great, but I also enjoyed several slices with Daiya Havarti Style Wedge in Jalapeno Garlic.

I started reading The Language of Food Photography series on Gourmande in the Kitchen. I figure it’s never to early to learn how to do this food blog thing the best way possible, right? So far I’ve only had a chance to read through the part 1, it’s been a busy week! I also discovered 3 (three!) sets of silver in my basement that my husband found at his dad’s house a while back. These will be great for props in the future. He also brought home some platters and dinnerware that belonged to his grandmother. I am super excited about this!

It seems that the holiday season is in full swing around the world wide web with holiday gift ideas popping up on blogs all over the place! Here are some great gift guides that I’ve enjoyed browsing:

What’s on your list? I’ve got several cookbooks that I wouldn’t mind receiving along with a food processor, running, biking and swimming gear, a triathlon bag, paid entry fees for races, etc.

This year on Portable North Pole you can send a special video message from Santa to your child for FREE! This is can be personalized for your child and is super cute. My two youngest absolutely loved it.

santa ad

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks

    I am loving your dedication to getting the bread to rise and great to know about the changes you made – WW pastry flour, proofing the yeast and one loaf. Great, awesome, and fabulous detective work! And I am so happy it turned out for you that way! Thanks for blogging about it and linking back! :)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Christmas Wish List~2012 | Herbivore Triathlete

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

