Christmas Traditions~Swedish Pepparkakor Edition

As a young girl living in Sweden, pepparkakor was a Christmas tradition.  Mom would make the delicious dough, I would eat most of it raw instead of rolling out and cutting into shapes, but some would survive the process and become crispy yumminess.

cookiepile

A few years ago for my birthday my mom got me a Swedish cookbook.  I leafed through it, fondly remembering the Swedish dishes I loved as a kid.

cookie5

This weekend, as part of our Swedish Christmas Tradition, the kids and I made Pepparkakor.

gracecookie3

Just as I remembered, the dough is the best part!

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup dark corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 tbsp ginger
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg

cookie4

Method:
Mix flour, soda and spices.  Heat syrup.  Melt butter and sugar in syrup.  Add egg.  Add dry ingredients to this mixture.  Put in cool place over night.  Roll out on board and cut into desired shapes.  Place on greased cookie sheet and bake at 375° for 10 minutes.

cookie2

Once cookies are cooled, decorate if desired.

cookie1

Have you ever made Swedish Pepparkakor? What are some of your Christmas Traditions?

6 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions~Swedish Pepparkakor Edition

  1. Sally

    I love festive Christmas cookies like this – they are so fun to not only eat but to decorate as well. One of my favorite Christmas traditions is to make homemade caramel corn with my mom. Always brings me back nostalgic memories. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Weekly Rewind~Appreciating My Kids Edition | Herbivore Triathlete

  3. Spencer Blank

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Reply

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

