White Chocolate Peppermint Bark Gift Bags

IMG_4765

I like to have my kids give their teachers and coaches a small gift at the holidays. These wonderful people spend a lot of time with my kids and I want them to know how much I appreciate them and all that they do for my kids.

IMG_4763

It’s always hard for me to decide exactly what to get everyone and the cost can quickly add up, so this year I decided to give something homemade. After searching the web and browsing Pinterest and asking for my kids’ input, we came up with White Chocolate Peppermint Bark. After purchasing the white chocolate chips ($1.99), candy canes ($0.99) and cute little snowman gift bags ($0.97 for 20 bags) at Wal-Mart, I had quick, easy, cheap and cute gifts for all the teachers, coaches, and dance instructors.

IMG_4767

White Chocolate Peppermint Bark 
Recipe from A Cozy Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 16oz white chocolate chips, divided
  • 5 candy canes

IMG_4770

Method:
Place the candy canes in a heavy-duty Ziploc bag and pound with a rolling pin or kitchen mallet (kids love this job!) breaking the candy into pieces. Set aside.

IMG_4777

Place half of the chocolate chips into a large bowl. Microwave for 30 seconds, then stir the chips. Repeat this process until the chocolate is thoroughly melted (it should take about 90 seconds of cooking time). Once the chocolate is melted, add the rest of the chocolate chips and stir until everything is melted through. This will temper the chocolate, which prevents it from looking white or moldy when it’s set up.

IMG_4778

Pour the chocolate into a pan lined with aluminum foil and spread into an even layer. I used a small baking sheet and covered the whole sheet. If you use a half sheet it should cover approx. ½ of the sheet.

IMG_4781 IMG_4783

Sprinkle the broken candies over the melted chocolate and allow it to cool, about 1 hour.

IMG_4784

Break into pieces and place equal amounts into gift bags. Voila!

IMG_4791

6 thoughts on “White Chocolate Peppermint Bark Gift Bags

  1. Mihl

    We do the same! I gave away some cookies to my daughter’s daycare teacher. I really like how happy and exited people usually get about homemade gifts, especially if they are edible.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Weekly Rewind~Appreciating My Kids Edition | Herbivore Triathlete

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award!! | Herbivore Triathlete

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

