Dark Chocolate Mint Muddy Buddies aka Puppy Chow

This is the stuff dreams are made of.

IMG_4847
I’m pretty sure that almost everyone has eaten Muddy Buddies aka Puppy Chow at some point in their lives. It’s a popular treat, especially around the holidays. The traditional recipe is right on the back of a Chex cereal box. I’ve seen countless variations on Pinterest.

IMG_4842

Although I am a huge fan of the original version, I wanted to change things up a bit. I was inspired by Sally’s Peppermint version.

IMG_4854

I also wanted to omit the peanut butter since I planned on using candy canes and don’t really think mint and peanut butter go together.

IMG_4852
When I went to the store to buy the ingredients I could not find peppermint candy canes anywhere! I went to FOUR different stores and every single store only had fruity flavored candy canes. Not at all what I wanted!

IMG_4853
However, at the last store I went to I found Hershey’s Chocolate Mint Candy Canes, perfect!

Dark Chocolate Mint Muddy Buddies aka Puppy Chow

Ingredients:

  • Hershey’s Chocolate Mint Candy Canes, crushed (I used 5 candy canes)
  • 12 oz. Hershey’s Semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 5 cups Chex cereal (I used rice)

Method:

Pour 5 cups of Chex rice cereal into a large bowl. Crush candy canes; I put them in a bag and used my kitchen mallet to crush them. Melt chocolate chips in microwave. Add melted chocolate chips to bowl with cereal and mix until all pieces are well-coated. Next, fold in crushed candy canes.

In a large zip-top bag pour in 1 cup powdered sugar. Add cereal/chocolate/candy cane mix to the bag. Make sure bag is sealed tightly and shake, shake, shake!

Muddy Buddies DiptychEnjoy!

4 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Mint Muddy Buddies aka Puppy Chow

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

