A Year of Change~2012

Looking back over the past year, I’ve made a lot of changes! I started 2012 feeling uncomfortable in my own skin. I was heavier than I’d ever been in my life (besides when I was pregnant). None of my clothes fit and going shopping was depressing. I spent my free time on the couch, eating and drinking beer. I was depressed and generally miserable.

adventure run

I had decided in the fall of 2011 that I would change the direction my life was going…in January 2012. I signed up for the Biggest Loser competition at my place of employment as a way to hold myself accountable. I began to track my daily intake of calories, in the beginning I was close to 3,000 per day! I began walking on the treadmill my husband had purchased for himself.

I changed my diet from eating anything and everything, drinking 6+ beers per day to eating clean and not drinking at all. I lost about 15 pounds by the end of the Biggest Loser competition in March.

raccoon rally

March is when I began to run outside, during my kids’ soccer practices. I was slow and ran short distances at first, but I was hooked on the endorphin rush very quickly. I ran a few races during the spring and summer months. I also did a cycling road race, 2 adventure runs, and 2 triathlons. I was able to improve my 5K time from 32 minutes to less than 25 minutes.

On May 1st, I gave up eating all animal protein as well as any food containing any kind of animal products (dairy, eggs, etc.) The learning curve was steep and there were many times that I ate animal products without realizing until later. I still strive to eat 100% vegan, but if there are no alternatives, I always choose the vegetarian options. I’ve lost a total of 30 pounds and dropped 4 pants sizes.

willow creek

In 2012, I ran 312.85 miles, in 61 hours & 30 minutes, and burned 31,119 calories. I biked 263.5 miles in 21 hours & 13 minutes and burned 8,823 calories. I swam 15,,406 yards in 11 hours & 53 minutes. I spent 32 hours & 10 minutes at spin class and 4 hours & 50 minutes on the elliptical.

The above numbers are not 100% accurate, they don’t take into account times I exercised and didn’t have my phone to track. None of the races I did are included in those totals either.

zombierun.anna

Looking ahead to 2013, I plan to continue down my current path. I have hopes to improve my race times as well as add more races to my schedule. I plan on continuing to eat a vegan diet and maintain my current weight. I am in the best shape physically and mentally that I’ve ever been in my adult life, I plan on carrying that into 2013.

What was 2012 like for you? Any New Year’s Resolutions as you look forward to 2013?

2 thoughts on “A Year of Change~2012

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

