Polar Bear Series~10 Miles

Polar Bear Series

The Polar Bear Series 10 mile race was the farthest I’ve ran so far as a runner. It was a gorgeous day, the sun was shining and the temperatures were in the high 30’s. About an hour and a half before the race start I made myself a juice that I’m calling, “Go Get ‘Em Green Juice” (recipe below). I also ate a bowl of my homemade Maple Sunbutter Granola with almond milk and a banana.

For once I actually managed to get my phone started on time and my music was turned up! I had come prepared with an extra layer consisting of a jacket and a fresh pack of Hot Hands. About a mile into the race, I shoved the Hot Hands in my pocket. I unzipped my extra jacket around mile 2 and thought about taking my hat off because I could feel myself sweating, but decided against it since I knew that the middle miles are in shade and colder. Around miles 1-2 I passed my husband and several other racers. My ankles started to ache a bit around miles 2-3 but not too bad and I ran through the achy-ness. I skipped the first water station and felt like I was keeping a good pace. I passed a couple more racers between miles 3-4. I like to pick a person or two ahead of me to try to “catch” and pass them.

Around miles 4-5 the leaders started passing me heading back towards the YMCA. I was hoping that the turnaround was coming up soon, but it seemed to take forever before I saw it. This portion of the race was all uphill, a L.O.N.G gradual uphill, it sucked. At the turnaround I grabbed a water and took a few sips. Now I got to run back down the hill and picked up my pace quite a bit.

I passed this one guy I’d been aiming for the past mile or so at this point. He slowed to a walk to drink his water. Next up was a woman in a pink jacket. It looked like she was quite a ways ahead of me and I feared that I may not be able catch up to and pass her. At miles 7-8, I was close enough to pass her and made my move. At this point there was no one else ahead of me to try to pass, I figured all the fast runners were way ahead of me and had probably finished by now.

I tried to pick up my pace for miles 8-10, however, my left IT band started to tighten up and really hurt at this point, but I refused to slow down and walk this close to the end, I pushed through the pain. Around 9.5 miles  I saw some runners who had already finished cooling down. I turned the final corner, about 1/4 mile left to the finish, and pushed myself into high gear. I ran as fast as I could to the finish line. My time was 1:33:53! (The splits shown below don’t give the official finish time due to me starting my phone timer prior to the official start of the race).

I was pleased with this time, my guesstimate had been about an hour and a half. This was my first longer distance race and I could not have asked for a better run. I felt really good the entire time and kept a steady pace, averaging 9-9:30 minutes per mile.

Polar Bear 10miles // www.herbivoretriathlete.wordpress.com

Go Get ‘Em Green Juice

3 Romaine Leaves
1 cup spinach, baby bok choy, baby red & green chard blend
1 celery stalk
1 apple
2-3 inches of an English Cucumber
1/4 cup fresh parsley
1/2 inch knob of ginger
1/2 of a lemon

Check out my other races on the Herbivore Triathlete Race Results Page
Previous Races in 2013: Polar Bear Series 5K & Polar Bear Series 10K
Next Race: Polar Bear Series Half Marathon–March 10, 2013

14 thoughts on “Polar Bear Series~10 Miles

    1. Herbivore Triathlete Post author

      Thanks Sally! I am proud of myself, it’s the farthest I’ve ran, ever! I’ve got a half marathon in 3 weeks and I am skeered! Funny thing is, I thought the weather was fairly warm on Sunday!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Weekly Rewind~Sick Child Edition | Herbivore Triathlete

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

