Weekly Rewind~Sick Child Edition

rewindIt’s been quite the week here at Herbivore Triathlete‘s house. After running 10 miles on Sunday, I was physically exhausted. That night my Princess complained of a headache, but I didn’t think much of it, chalking it up to a bedtime stalling technique, turned her lights off and tucked her into bed. That night she crawled into my bed around 11:00 pm and we did not sleep longer than an hour stretch all night. My phone rang at 5:45 am, schools were delayed 2 hours due to icy and snowy roads. My youngest daughter spent the day crying in pain every time she moved that her head hurt. Her fever progressively climbed higher and higher each day.

Staying home from work two days this week with my little girl meant lots of snuggling on the couch, reading stories, watching movies, Gatorade, Tylenol and Ibuprofen. And very, very little sleep! It’s always so hard to see one of my children in pain. If I could take her pain from her I would in a heartbeat.

This week at school she had been chosen to read the morning announcements. She was home sick that day. She was also supposed to go on a field trip to see a play, “Skippy John Jones”, she was home sick that day too. Due to President’s day weekend, it was a short week and Wednesday her class was scheduled to have their Valentine’s Day party. She was home sick that day too. Poor little Princess wanted so badly to go to school, but her fever didn’t break until later in the week.

The Princess had her 6 month cleaning at the dentist this week and while she had no cavities, she still was the recipient of some not fantastic news. When her bottom front two adult teeth grew in, her baby teeth never fell out. They never even got loose and I’ve tried to wiggle them frequently over the course of the past 6 months. This week the dentist gave me the news I’d been dreading, she will need to have them extracted. It’s not been a good week for the Princess.

We also put our house on the market and have been looking at new homes ourselves. This meant lots of cleaning, decluttering, organizing, filling out disclosure papers, signing contracts, meeting with a Realtor, etc.

Valentine’s Day was low-key and spent at home. We had grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup with the kids. The kids got some small gifts from me and the hubs got peanut butter and chocolate Reese’s cups. I received a beautiful bouquet of flowers.

It’s been a very busy week! Have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind~Sick Child Edition

  1. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    There is nothing worse than a sick or sad loved one, especially when you can’t really do anything to help. I hope both of you are doing much better now, and still managed to have some bright spots to your Valentine’s Day.

    Reply

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

