Homemade Citrus Infused Household Cleaner

Citrus works great as a degreaser, stain remover and freshener.  Vinegar is also a great cleaning agent, breaking down mold, grease, mineral deposits and bacteria.  Combine the two and you have a great natural cleaner.

Citrus Collage // Herbivore Triathlete

This cleaner is eco-friendly not only because it is biodegradable and safe to use, but because it is making use of products that would otherwise be thrown in the trash.

Directions:

  1. Place the leftover rinds from any citrus fruit (orange, grapefruit, lemon, etc) into a glass jar.
  2. Pour white vinegar over top of the rinds until vinegar covers the rinds.
  3. Put a lid on it and let it sit for 2 weeks.
  4. Remove rinds, strain liquid through a sieve, and store in a glass jar.
  5. Use diluted 1:1 water to citrus vinegar in a spray bottle.

Remember the dishwasher detergent I made? I told you then that the vinegar works as a rinse aid and that citric acid is what keeps deposits and buildups off your dishes. I know sometimes I miss the lemon-y smell of store bought dishwasher detergent. Now, I’ve got a solution! Use this simple, 2 ingredient cleaner as the rinse aid. Perfect!

Check out my other Do It Yourself posts!

6 thoughts on “Homemade Citrus Infused Household Cleaner

  1. Fracture de nuit

    I wonder if using organic lemon essential oil instead of the rind would work the same. I mix bicarbonate of soda with lemon essential oil to clean jars when I …unfortenately let rot something in the fridge (it takes away the smell very well).

    Reply
  2. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    This is such a great tip, and so timely, too! I’ve been going through grapefruits like nobody’s business lately, so I’d love to put those peels to good use. Seems like such a shame to throw them out anyway, and I’m always looking for more natural cleaning methods anyway.

    Reply
    1. Herbivore Triathlete Post author

      Oh yes, grapefruit would be an amazing citrus to use for this cleaner. My current batch is a mix of grapefruit and tangelos! I agree Hannah, it is a shame to throw peels away when you can use them (kind of like with veggie broth). I try to use as many natural cleaning methods as possible too.

      Reply

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.

