Dinner Menu for the Week

weekly menu

Do you ever feel stressed out trying to throw a healthy and tasty dinner together at the last minute during the work week? I know I do. With three active kids and two parents who both exercise daily and work full-time, dinner can become very hectic around my house. Next week starts soccer season for my two younger ones, plus the youngest begins swim lessons this week. Flying by the seats of our pants for dinner is not going to cut it any longer.

I am a planner by nature. I like things organized, in their place, and predictable. Routines and I are BFFs. I started to plan dinner for the week last week and it worked out fantastically. I thought other families might appreciate me sharing what we have planned each week.

Keep in mind that I am the only 100% plant-based eater in my house, the rest of the family is omnivores. Adjust each meal to accommodate your own dietary needs.

**I do all my prep work on Saturday and Sunday. This includes finalizing the menu for the week, then checking what ingredients I have at home and making a grocery list. Once home I begin washing, chopping, and sautéeing veggies. I wash all fresh fruits. If anything needs thawed I take it out of the freezer and move it to the refrigerator. I pack lunches and snacks for the next day each night.**

Here is this week’s menu:

Monday: Saucy Skillet with Tofu (Chicken for family) from Food & Family Magazine Summer 2006
Tuesday: Crockpot Tortilla Soup from 86 Lemons
Wednesday: Salads (The family will have steak to add to theirs if they choose)
Thursday: Taco Chili with Cheeze Sauce from Oh She Glows
Friday: Naughty and Nice Enchilada Casserole from Oh She Glows

I pack my lunch to bring to work every day. Here is what I’ve got planned this week; Organic Spring Mix Salad greens with various toppings (sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, hemp seeds, etc.), Tabbouleh (recipe to come!), and Rip’s Sweet Potato Bowl

I also bring snacks to work with me, this week I bought; fresh fruit (Cara Cara oranges, Anjou Pears), granola, roasted red pepper hummus with veggies, and edamame.

Do you ever plan your meals for the week? Have any favorite dinner suggestions? Links encouraged!

7 thoughts on “Dinner Menu for the Week

  1. Andrea

    Thank you so much for the new recipe suggestions! I plan seven suppers per week for our crew with enough leftovers for lunch the next day. Even with all the tried and true recipes, I get stuck sometimes! I’m also the only veggie in the family, though they only get meat dishes once a week. I, too, like things organized and routine-like. Keep up the great work! Just like w/sport, a little time investment in the beginning pays big dividends in the end.

    Reply
  2. Erica {Coffee & Quinoa}

    I am a big planner, so I always do my menu planning and shopping for the whole week on the weekend. Sometimes I end up deviating from it a bit if I see a new recipe I just can’t wait to try out! I loved seeing the snacks you typically bring. I had never thought to bring edamame, but that’s a great snack idea. I brought some today and am eating it right now! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Dinner Menu for the Week of March 4th, 2013 | Herbivore Triathlete

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.