Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I’ve been baking a lot lately, using my favorite fall ingredients; pumpkins and cranberries. So far I’ve made orange-cranberry-walnut muffins from The PPK and my bread last weekend. I had just over a cup of fresh cranberries left in the fridge and knew I wanted to make cookies, so I went on a search for a recipe. I found a recipe over on Coconut and Lime that looked promising. The original recipe was not veg*an or gluten-free, but I’ve learned to trust my “kitchen intuition” and knew that I could easily vegan-ize the recipe. The combination of tart cranberries and sweet chocolate chips is absolutely wonderful!

Adapted from Coconut & Lime

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup fresh cranberries
3/4 cup Sucanat
3/4 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats (use gluten-free for that option)
1/4 cup semisweet mini chips (I use Enjoy Life Mini-chips, these are gluten & dairy free)
4 tablespoons Earth Balance, at room temperature
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 flax egg (1 tbsp. ground flax + 3 tbsps. warm water, mixed)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350° F. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. In a large bowl, cream together the Earth Balance, vanilla and Sucanat, using a hand mixer. Add the flax egg, beat until fluffy. Add the flour, baking powder, salt, ginger, and oats. Mix until well combined. Fold in cranberries and chips. Drop by tablespoon onto cookie sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes until they  the bottoms are just brown. Carefully, remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: about 2 dozen cookies

What’s your favorite kind of cookie?

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.