Weekly Rewind~Back to Work Edition

rewindIt’s been a very busy week for me since I’ve returned to work full time this week after my nice long holiday vacation! As always, Friday means weekly rewind,here’s what happened this week.

Winter Session I of spin classes started this week and the sadistic duo instructors don’t ease us back into things but rather plow ahead full force.

Half marathon training is in full swing as well with each Sunday’s run session getting gradually longer. I’m not running a predetermined number of miles but rather a length of time, this week the plan is to run for 1 hour, 25 minutes. I’m expecting this to be around 10 miles or so.

Although I don’t necessary feel the need to make New Year’s resolutions per say, I do feel like I need to clean up my eating a bit after enjoying a bit of freedom food wise during the holidays.

I’ve been planning my meals again, which is essential for work days and I tend to eat better if I plan ahead. Every day I’ve made myself a huge salad for lunch. My salads typically include spinach, arugula and kale, about 2-3 cups worth. I add cucumbers, tomatoes, sprouts, beans (black beans, chickpeas, etc.), hemp seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, goji berries, cranberries, and banana peppers. For the dressing my current fave is Marzetti Simply Dressed Light Raspberry Acai Salad Dressing.

Check out Somer’s Green Smoothie Challenge, talk about inspirational! She has graciously provided a Google document for anyone who would like to join in the challenge. All the work has been done for you, no excuses!

Megan from Country Cleaver has started a great how-to series. First up, a fabulous looking multigrain bread, picture perfect and waiting to be made into a great sandwich, or simply toasted and slathered with some nut butter, sunflower butter or even cookie butter. Yum!

Angela from Oh She Glows started a Vegan How To Series which I think is fantastic for anyone wanting to eat more plant-based whole foods. I wish she had done this series a year ago when I embarked into the world of veganism. Lots of great tips, tricks, and helpful information is being covered not only in the posts themselves but also in discussions in the comments section. Topics covered so far include; Introduction to the Series, How To Make The Transition, Replacing Dairy Milk, Carrageenan in Our Food, and Homemade Oat Milk.

I’m sick and tired of the music I currently have on my playlist and am looking for new, motivating songs for my upcoming Polar Bear Series 10K, which is quickly approaching. Eeek! It’ll be the longest race I’ve ever done.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Rewind~Back to Work Edition

Comments and Links Encouraged! Share your thoughts with me.